Home / News

2nd Team Report v Derbyshire - 7th June 2015











 The County 2nd Team players were all smiles at Halesowen G.C. as they recorded a fine win against a strong Derbyshire 2nd Team on Sunday 7th June  L to R : Josh Bryan, Matt Brookbanks, Steve Bird, James Robinson, Lee Richardson, Ben Myatt, Craig Richardson, James Berwick, Paul Reeves and Russ Ager


Team Captain, Russ Ager ( Pictured above) got everything right with the foursomes pairings and his side led 4-1 at lunch. The first tee shot of the day from Josh Bryan finished 8 feet away on the par four first and this was slotted by Paul Reeves for an opening eagle. They went on to win 7&5. Further, solid wins from Brookbanks and Robinson, Bird and Myatt and Ager and Berwick meant that four singles matches were needed for victory.

Halesowen G.C. is always a tough test of golf. The course was in fine condition and although the greens were quite slow for this time of year, due to some late seeding, it didn't stop a host of birdies and eagles being recorded in almost every singles match. The Derbyshire lads came out fighting and took the top singles and 3rd match convincingly. At one point it was looking like a great recovery from Derbyshire but the Worcestershire lads dug in and rallied extremely well. Wins from Robinson, Bird, Berwick, Brookbanks and Myatt whilst battling halves from Richardson and Team Captain, Ager, secured a convincing 10-5 victory. 

Halesowen Golf Club ( pictured above) were excellent hosts for this County fixture. Their catering manager and staff have won the Midlands award for club caterer of the year in 2014 and the players thoroughly enjoyed the impressive food and hospitality shown to them throughout the day. The weather was perfect and the course was prepared to a high standard as well as being a stern test, requiring extremely accurate, precise, shot making.

2nd Team Captain, Russ Ager, was delighted with his team's performance and they are all looking forward to their next match against Staffordshire at Barlaston G.C. on Sunday 5th July. He would like to thank all the County Officials who supported the team at Halesowen. They were, Denis Hayes, Dave McDermott, Tony Edwards, Bill Thompson and Stuart Pritchard.