Home / News

County Matchplay Championship - Stourbridge Golf Club 31st August 2014

The County Matchplay Championship was contested over two full days on Saturday 30th and Sunday 31st August at Stourbridge Golf Club.

 The first two rounds were played on Saturday, looking to reduce the field to the last 4 who would  contest the semi-final and final on the Sunday. There was some exceptional golf played throughout the day, with Josh McMahon, James Robinson, Tom Howells and Russ Ager being the successful 4.Special mention should be given to Tom Howells who managed to beat Richard Sadler at the 19th on the Saturday morning and then had to go to the 20th on Saturday afternoon to beat Steve Bird - a serious day's work.

Sunday morning saw the 4 semi-finalists assemble well before 8.00am for a prompt start on what would be a very exciting day, as the host club also running it's own finals day with 6 of their own trophies at stake. Tom Howells just failed to keep up his run of extra holes, going down by 1 hole to to Russ Ager in his semi-final. Josh McMahon played some good golf to edge past James Robinson in the other semi-final - an excellent result as James had won 6 matches in a row at Stourbridge when taking into account his win a few weeks earlier in the Boys Matchplay Championship. This meant that the final would be an all Redditch affair between Josh McMahon and Russ Ager.

 The final was keenly balanced over the first 9 holes, but Josh McMahon continued to play the steady golf he had been producing all weekend, and he managed to prevail. Josh was 1 under par for the 16 holes played.

The County would like to thank Stourbridge Golf Club for hosting this event and for providing a course in such excellent condition.The players all commented on the quality of the course as a whole, and especially the greens. Thanks should go to all the staff, and members, at Stourbridge who provided a very hospitble experience over the whole weekend.

Special thanks to Brian Morris, Immediate Past County President, who made the presentations and Tony Edwards, Di Wilde and Colin Day, the referees without whom the event could not be run.