Home / News

Finals Day Report 19.4.15

Finals Day Report  

The County, Inter-club Winter Scratch Foursomes Competitions reached their final stages at The Worcestershire G.C. on Sunday 19th April 2015. 

A record entry from clubs across the County for both competitions was extremely well managed by the competition's organiser, Mr Dave McDermott. He was keen to say that all the clubs co-operated very well and arranged their matches within the agreed timescales very efficiently. Steve Lloyd, the head green keeper at The Worcestershire, worked very hard during the last few months to prepare the course to a very high standard for the finals. All the competitors were full of praise for his efforts. The Club Captain, Steve Bradshaw, was very complimentary about the way in which the County organised and ran the competition as well as being proud to have hosted this year's finals. Bill Thompson ( Immediate Past President ) thanked the club for their warm hospitality, excellent catering and for preparing the course to such a high standard. He also thanked Stuart Pritchard (County Secretary), Tony Edwards ( Droitwich Shield Final Referee) and Di Wild ( Kidderminster Cup Final Referee) for their tireless efforts in supporting this competition to a packed clubhouse. 

The matches were hard fought and played in a very sporting manner. The 18th Hole proved to be the deciding factor for nearly all the matches and the very tricky green lived up to its reputation, with those going above the hole, finding it nearly impossible to get down in two. Nevertheless, both finals were decided without going to extra holes and it was great to see a host of supporters from all clubs, out on the course and at the presentation.

The County would like to take this opportunity to warmly thank The Worcestershire G.C. for hosting the finals and the hospitality shown by everyone at the club was first class. The County look forward to returning to this lovely course at the foothills of the Malverns, at some stage in the near future. 


The Droitwich Shield Final 2015 

Result: The Worcestershire 2 v 1 Moseley 


The 2015 Droitwich Shield winners : The Worcestershire G.C. 

LtoR : Dave Marshall, Tom Howells, Jamie Dunster, Pete Lupino ( Team Capt), Phil Shurmer and Steven Lane 


2015 Droitwich Shield Runners up : Moseley G.C.

LtoR : Paul Garey, Dan Downes, Adam Norman, Chris Norman, Chris Heeley ( Team Capt) and Richard Sadler  


 The Kidderminster Cup Final 2015

Result: Moseley 2 v 1 Fulford Heath 


2015 winners: Moseley G.C. 

LtoR : David McGillivray, Peter Desmond, Ian Warner, Keith Holmes ( Team Capt), Noel Green and Brian Jobson


Runners up : Fulford Heath G.C.

LtoR : John Dibble, Martin Cartwright, Phil White (Team Capt), Tom Mooney, Martin Payne and John Hughes