Worcestershire County Golf Ltd

History of WUGC (Now Worcestershire County Golf Limited)

The Worcestershire Union of Golf Clubs was founded on November 17th 1905.

At a meeting on that day, in the Star Hotel, Worcester, representatives of the nine Founder Clubs formally agreed to form the County Union.

The Founder Clubs were The Worcestershire Golf Club, Dudley Golf Club, Evesham Golf Club, Kidderminster Golf Club, Kings Norton Golf Club, Malvern Working Men's Club, Moseley Golf Club, Robin Hood Golf Club, and Worcester City Golf Club. This list is no particular order but happens to be the order the attendees were listed in the handwritten minute book. It is interesting that this first inaugural document of the County contains a misprint, in that The Worcestershire Golf Club is entered as Worcester Golf Club. So were the foundations laid that give the present Secretary such comfort when similar small errors occur 100 years later.

The Union Centenary was celebrated at a Dinner, held in The Guildhall, Worcester, on 17th November 2005.

An excellent book, "The Centenary History of the Worcestershire Union of Golf Clubs" written by John Moreton, golf historian of renown, was published recording in graphic detail the incidents, personalities and achievements of the first hundred years.

The Union agreed to Incorporate on 1st January 2021, and is now known as Worcestershire County Golf Limited.

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.